A French Translator and a Patreon Patron

vlcsnap-2017-01-12-11h27m39s289

(This was originally posted for patrons only on the Space Comms Patreon page over a week ago. There are seven patron only posts on my Patreon page in total. If you want to know what I’m working on, see my videos before anyone else, or read about my video editing or ham radio process, sign up as a patron to get access. Additional perks include being thanked for your support at the end of every video with your name and callsign listed, and for higher levels I’ll give you access to all my raw video and audio of every sat pass I’ve worked, plus video of HF and other non-sat ham radio stuff. https://www.patreon.com/johnbrier)

This video is unique. A French astronaut speaking French to a school in Belgium through a telebridge station in Maryland… and here is the kicker… I GOT A TRANSLATOR! That’s him in the screen capture above. His name is Victor and it was really fun having him join me. There’s a good story about how I connected with him to make this happen and it will be included in the video.

As you may or may not know, from March of last year up until the last few months, I was working full-time on Space Comms. I was living off of savings in order to do this. My hope was to make enough money using Patreon to support myself, and while I did make some money, which I’m very grateful for, it wasn’t enough I needed to live off of.

I just accepted an offer for a full time job doing technical writing, documenting middleware software. After I get settled into the job I plan to commit to releasing a new video on a defined schedule, probably less often than I was doing it previously, but still pretty frequently. Please consider supporting me on Patreon if possible as this encourages me to continue making videos and to make them better and better. Not to mention you get a lot of cool perks!

Thanks for however you support me though, whether through watching, or liking/commenting/sharing, on all the way up to being a financially supporting patron.

Thank you.

73, John Brier KG4AKV

Leave a Reply

